Summer School


Photo: Henry Kenyon Photography

The winners of European Science Journalist of the Year 2019 were announced at an evening reception at the World Conference of Science Journalists, in Lausanne, tonight (Tuesday July 2, 2019).   

The international judging panel had already shortlisted five people from five countries out of the 25 entries from journalists and journalism associations from around Europe.

Announcing the results Seema Kumar, Vice President of Innovation, Global Health and Policy Communication at Johnson & Johnson - the sponsors of the award  - said: Due to the high quality of entries and the diverse range of mediums the judges decided to award the prize to more than one winner this year – recognising excellence in different media formats.

The winners are…

At a ceremony held at the Science Museum’s new Illuminate event space last night (Tuesday 28 May), the winners of this year’s Association of British Science Writers’ Awards for Britain and Ireland were announced.

Gaia Vince, freelance science and environment journalist, and an award-winning broadcaster and author hosted the event. The Lifetime Achievement Award was presented to Sir Philip Campbell Editor-in Chief of the publishing company Springer Nature and former Editor-in-Chief of Nature.   Pallab Ghosh, Science Correspondent BBC News, reflected on Sir Philip’s outstanding and influential career before announcing he had won the award.  

ABSW board member, Dr. Sunny Bains, tech journalist, editor, and educator, currently at UCL, has been elected to the board of the World Federation of Science Journalists.

The 30 voting delegates of national science journalism associations from around the world elected three new members to the board.

The other two elected board members – out of six candidates running in the election – are Andrada Fiscutean from Romania, and M. Harry Surjadi from Indonesia. “All six candidates have an impressive background, are enthusiastic and are already engaged on behalf of our community,” the WFSJ said.

Congratulations Sunny!

The Knight Science Journalism Program at MIT seeks to nurture and enhance the ability of journalists from around the world to accurately illuminate the complex intersection of science, technology and human culture.

One of the ten Knight fellows for 2019-2020 is ABSW board member Richard Fisher, managing editor of features (RoW), including BBC Future, Culture and Reel.

Two previous ABSW award winners have also won this year's fellowship: Anil Ananthaswamy, who won the Best Investigative Journalism award in 2013; and Eva Wolfangel, winner of the 2018 European Science Writer of the Year award.

Richard is a science journalist and editor who leads the digital features teams (RoW) for BBC Global News Ltd in London. That includes the sites Future, Culture and Reel, as well as the social and homepage editors in the UK.

He is also the Editor of BBC Future, the science, technology and health website on Before that he was an editor at New Scientist, working in both the news and features departments.

His current interests include the long-term view of humanity and our impact on future generations. Richard is an ABSW member who was also elected to ABSW governing board this year.

Two other current board members, Ehsan Masood and Mico Tatalovic, were KSJ at MIT fellows in 2017-2018.

More about Richard.

More about the fellowship.

After consideration of two hundred and seventy entries, the judges have decided on the finalists in this year’s Association of British Science Writers’ Awards for Britain and Ireland. The winners will be announced at the awards ceremony on Tuesday 28 May 2019 in the Science Museum’s new Illuminate event space. The Awards are supported by Johnson & Johnson Innovation along with category support from the Royal Society, the Dr Katharine Giles Fund and NUJ/Stephen White Bequest.  

Mico Tatalovic, chair of the judging panel and of the ABSW said: "We have had a near-record number of entries this year, and the standard has been excellent, as usual, which made judging them difficult but also enjoyable. It was great to see some new names – of both journalists and publications – on the shortlist, and several entries that were published in non-science publications. It’s been a privilege to be a part of these awards and see them go from strength to strength over the last few years. We hope to make them even bigger and better next year!” 

The ABSW has partnered up with CIJ for the second year running, to bring the science beat closer to investigative reporters.

We are organizing three sessions on science reporting at the CIJ’s Investigative Journalism Summer Conference: Where new tools meet traditional craft on 4-6 July 2019 in London, UK.

ABSW also has five travel grants for its members to attend the conference, and all ABSW members get 20% discount on registration.

The science sessions this year are the following:

Here are the individuals elected to serve on the ABSW Executive Board at last week's AGM.   These individuals will serve two years on the Board as at the AGM the standing orders were amended so that individuals are now elected for two year terms rather than one.  Congratulations to them all.   

ABSW Calendar

July 2019
1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30 31



EurekAlert! is the ABSW's professional development partner and supports all ABSW professional development and training events.