Summer School

Do you know a senior science journalist who deserves to be recognized for outstanding work over decades of work?

Consider nominating them for ABSW Lifetime Achievement Award, which is made to an individual nearing the end of their career, or who is retired (the Award may also be made posthumously).

The Award celebrates the work of a journalist or writer whose career reflects lifetime achievement in promoting excellence and creativity in science journalism/science writing.

The recipient is recognised for entertaining and informing audiences, and/or for inspiring new generations of journalists and writers, and/or for making a lasting impact in their main area of expertise. 

Previous winners include: Steve Connor (The Independent), Andy Coghlan (New Scientist), Deborah Cohen (BBC Radio), Dick Ahlstrom (The Irish Times), David Dickson (SciDev.Net), Fred Pearce (freelancer), Geoff Watts (freelancer), Dr John Gribbin (author and freelancer), Sir David Attenborough (BBC Television), Tim Radford (The Guardian).

This Award is not made by self-entry but by nomination of an individual to the ABSW Executive. Nominations are requested from ABSW members and should include a statement outlining why the individual meets the criteria above.

The ABSW Executive Board receives nominations and makes a final decision on who should receive the Award.  

To make your nomination please email the relevant details to the ABSW Executive Board via This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.